Pizza Poppers

This is my version of this recipe for Pizza Poppers: mini-pizzas in ball form!

Yum!

I changed the recipe just a little, but not enough to call it my own. I cut the recipe down to only make 18 little pizzas and I’m calling them pizza poppers.

Start by making cheese cubes from an 8 oz. block of mozzarella cheese. I only used about half the block. Then I opened all of my Pillsbury buttermilk biscuit cans (18 biscuits in all) and set up an area to build my poppers.

Take one biscuit and spread it out fairly thin. Place two pepperoni on the dough, then a piece of the chopped cheese, then two more pepperoni, and wrap the dough up around the toppings. Place them in a cake pan for baking.

Whip up one egg and brush on the uncooked poppers. Sprinkle Italian seasoning and Parmesan cheese on top.The original recipe calls for garlic powder to be sprinkled on top as well but I completely forgot it! I’m going to blame it on being a newbie chef.

Put your poppers in the oven at 425°F for 18-20 minutes. Remove and serve with pizza sauce!

Some tips:

Don’t let the dough get too warm. It becomes a lot less malleable when it gets to be room temperature!

I wasn’t particularly fond of the Italian seasoning taste. Don’t use too much because it can overpower the taste of everything else in the poppers.

Give them a try as leftovers because they are delicious cold. I like my regular pizza cold, though, so maybe it’s just me!

3 thoughts on “Pizza Poppers

  1. Easy Peasy Recipe!!! The personal trainer in me is afraid of the calories but looks quick and delish! Must do with whole wheat dough hopeful and low fat cheese and lean meat! 😀 Thanks for the inspired thought!

Leave a Reply

